Bowdoin Announces 2017 Honorary Degree Recipients

(L. to r.) Anthony Doerr ’95, Hanna Holborn Gray, Fatuma Hussein, Chuck Leavell

Bowdoin College will bestow four honorary degrees at its 212th Commencement exercises May 27, 2017. The ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. on the Quad in front of the Bowdoin College Museum of Art.

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Anthony E. Doerr ’95; Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of History and president emeritus, University of Chicago, Hanna Holborn Gray; Immigrant Resource Center of Maine founder and executive director Fatuma Hussein; and Grammy-winning musician and conservationist Chuck Leavell are this year’s honorands. Read more about them in Bowdoin News.


  1. David R Anderson says:

    Great choices. The Common Good as never needed us mote.

Leave a Comment