Trustees Recognize Dedicated Service to the College


The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees re-elected seven members, elected a vice chair and college secretary, and recognized the valued contributions to the College by members of the faculty, staff and board of trustees during meetings held on campus May 7-8, 2015.


Re-elected Trustees
The board re-elected Arthur Black ’91; David Brown ’79; Michele Cyr ’76, P’12; Jeff Emerson ’70, P’10; Gregory Kerr ’79; John McQuillan ’87 and Paula Wardynski ’79 trustees, each for a five-year term, effective July 1, 2015.

Emeritus Status
In recognition of devoted service to Bowdoin, retiring faculty and staff members, and others who are leaving the College, were elected to emeritus status.

Barry Mill, Peter Small, Cristle Collins Judd

Barry Mills, Peter Small, Cristle Collins Judd

President Barry Mills, who is stepping down after fourteen years in office, was elected President of the College Emeritus. Peter Small ’64, P’97, P’99, elected overseer in 1988 and a trustee in 1996, was elected Trustee Emeritus. Cristle Collins Judd, who is leaving the college after 10 years, was elected Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Music Emerita.

Three faculty members are retiring after lengthy tenures at the College.

Carey Phillips, Paul Schaffner, Bill Watterson

Carey Phillips, Paul Schaffner, Bill Watterson

Carey Phillips, who is retiring after 30 years at Bowdoin, was elected Professor of Biology Emeritus. Paul Schaffner, who first came to the College in 1977, has been elected Associate Professor of Psychology Emeritus, and William C. Watterson, who joined the faculty in 1976, Edward Little Professor of the English Language and Literature Emeritus.

The board also honored two departing staff members. Richard H. F. Lindemann, who came to Bowdoin in 1999, was elected Director of the George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives Emeritus. Trustees also honored Richard Mersereau, a member of the Class of 1969, and who has worked at the College in various capacities since that time, most recently as Senior Leadership Gifts Officer and Special Advisor to the President for College Relations, by electing him Secretary of the College Emeritus.

Richard Lindemann, Richard Mersereau, Eli Orlic

Richard Lindemann, Richard Mersereau, Eli Orlic

New Role
Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations Elizabeth “Eli” Orlic has been elected Secretary of the College.

All of the board’s elections are effective July 1, 2015.

Leave a Comment