Yarbrough Wins Prestigious Award for Book on Presidency

Theodore Roosevelt and the American Political Tradition (University Press of Kansas, 2012), the latest book by Jean Yarbrough, professor of government and Bowdoin’s Gary M. Pendy Sr. Professor of Social Sciences, has won the American Political Science Association’s prestigious Richard E. Neustadt Award for the best book published on the U.S. presidency in 2012.

“I was thrilled that the awards committee chose a book that examines the political thought of one of our most iconic presidents,” says Yarbrough. “For anyone wishing to understand how the American political tradition has unfolded over the past hundred years, Theodore Roosevelt is a good place to start.”

The Richard E. Neustadt Award For the Best Book on the Presidency is among the most prestigious awards recognizing scholarly contributions to political science in the nation.

Bowdoin now counts three Neustadt award-winners among its ranks. Professor of Government Janet M. Martin was honored with the award in 2004; Thomas Brackett Reed Professor of Government Andrew Rudalevige won his Neustadt award in 2003.

The award is to be presented to Yarbrough at APSA’s annual meeting in Chicago in August.

Jean Yarbrough discusses her book with colleague Paul Franco, professor of government, here.


  1. Barbara Kaster says:

    Congratulations, Jean!! Proud to know you.


  1. […] government and Gary M. Pendy Sr. Professor of Social Sciences at Bowdoin College. We are gratified to note that Professor Yarbrough’s book has won the American Political Science Association’s […]

Leave a Comment